Bulgarian Biodiversity Foundation (BBF)

Bulgarian Biodiversity Foundation (BBF) was established in 1997 with the support of the Bulgarian - Swiss Biodiversity Conservation Programme (BSBCP). Since its creation BBF has supported efforts of the Bulgarian Government and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation in implementing sustainable management practices in 7 key regions of Bulgaria – Central Balkan, Dobrudja, Bourgas Wetlands, Strandja, Eastern Rhodopes and Pirin.The BBF team has carried out numerous direct nature conservation activities such as Action Plans for endangered species, Management Plans for protected areas and preparing and submitting documentation for declaring and announcement a new protected areas - nature parks and Ramsar Sites.


Odessa Branch Institute of Biology of the Southern Seas, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (OBIBSS)

The Institute was established in 1964 by the special resolution of the Presidium of Academy of Sciences of the USSR.The three working at that time on the Black Sea Ukrainian biological stations (in Sevastopol, Odessa and Karadag) were united into one Kovalevsky Institute of Biology of the Southern Seas of the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic (IBSS). Later it was transformed into Odessa Branch of the IBSS (OBIBSS).



Mare Nostrum is an organization comprised of citizens concerned about the severe degradation of the Romanian Coastal Environment, whose mission is to promote the transformation from the current unsustainable practices and attitudes towards more sustainable and environmentally conscious methods regarding the utilization of Romanian Coastal Zone.


Ilia State University

Ilia State University (ISU) was founded in 2006. From 2006 to 2011 the following institutions were integrated into its structure: Ilia Chavchavadze State University of Language and Culture, Sulkhan-Saba Orbeliani State Pedagogical University, Sports Academy, the Institutes of Zoology and Botany and other institutions, each having a long history and a diverse institutional profile


Faculty of Marine Sciences of Karadeniz Technical University

Faculty of Marine Sciences of Karadeniz Technical University had been established in 1982 and had started education since 1984. Faculty has 3 departments: Department of Fisheries, Department of Naval Architecture and Department of Marine Transportation and Business Administration. Number of students has reached 800 and staff 85 of which 35 of them are academicians.


Black Sea


Scientific Reseach


Artificial Reefs